LAB042 – The Butcher Shop, Vol. V (+ originals!)

Ah, this one’s been awhile coming! Fifth installment of the Butcher Shop series. All cover songs.

What better way to kick it off with than old school San Diegocore crew Battalion Of Saints?! Covering Motörhead’s “Ace Of Spades”?!!? Ay! Then we get moody with a Japanese TGUK tribute, then French screamo covers Norwegian screamo, then Nada Surf takes on the Muslims/Soft Pack from their whole album of covers! The GAYNGS song is, like, reeeaaal fresh on the Daytrotter page, the Mineral track is from the long-lost split between them and Sense Field and Jimmy Eat World, of all things, the Gods And Queens song is just fucking righteous, and the Owen song is off his new 7″. Radiohead via more Japanese, SoCal misfits the Mistake finally recorded a song without “Fuck” in the title, Times New Viking takes Arcade Fire into the red, Black Flag via even more Japanese, New Bruises takes on their namesake, that new band Young Adults pays respect, and LAB friendlies We Only Said bow to the late Mr. Linkous, RIP, from the all-French tribute album. Don’t forget some of my new favorite things in music, Jeffrey Lewis and his 12 Crass Songs, Chris Colohan and his Nick Cave swoon, and . . . and . . . xBishopx doing Saves the Day. XBISHOPX DOING SAVES THE DAY. Say what you will. It is awesome. YouTube rip. (Not the crappy live version.)

Battalion Of SaintsAce Of Spades [Motörhead]

2. wooranAnne Arbour [The Get Up Kids]
3. The Third MemoryBody By Design [Cease Upon The Capitol]
4. Nada SurfBright Side [The Soft Pack]
5. GAYNGSBy Your Side [Sade] (Daytrotter Session)
6. MineralCrazy [Willie Nelson]
7. The DelegatesThe Final Countdown [Europe] (Radio Demix)
8. Gods And QueensHead To Wall [Quicksand]
9. Jeffrey LewisI Ain’t Thick, It’s Just A Trick [Crass]
10. OwenI’m Always In Love [Wilco]
11. Taiji SatoIdioteque [Radiohead]
12. The MistakeInto You Like A Train [Psychedelic Furs]
13. Burning LoveJack The Ripper [Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds]
14. FanfarloA Minor Place [Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy] (Live)
15. Times New VikingNeighborhood #1 (Tunnels) [Arcade Fire]
16. Stupid Babies Go MadNervous Breakdown [Black Flag]
17. New BruisesNu Bruises [Superchunk]
18. Kevin DevineThe Only One [Manchester Orchestra]
19. Young AdultsOver The Edge [Wipers]
20. We Only SaidSomeday I Will Treat You Good [Sparklehorse]
21. Mustard PlugWaiting Room [Fugazi]
22. xBishopxYou Vandal [Saves The Day]

And as a sweet bonus, I’ve also made this same mix with all the original tracks! I don’t doubt your ability to work that one out, but for the sake of completeness I’ll save you the thinking:

1. Motörhead – Ace Of Spades

2. The Get Up Kids – Anne Arbour
3. Cease Upon The Capitol – Body By Design
4. The Muslims – Bright Side
5. Sade – By Your Side
6. Willie Nelson – Crazy
7. Europe – The Final Countdown
8. Quicksand – Head To Wall
9. Crass – I Ain’t Thick, It’s Just A Trick
10. Wilco – I’m Always In Love
11. Radiohead – Idioteque
12. The Psychedelic Furs – Into You Like A Train
13. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Jack The Ripper
14. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – A Minor Place
15. Arcade Fire – Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)
16. Black Flag – Nervous Breakdown
17. Superchunk – Nu Bruises
18. Manchester Orchestra – The Only One
19. Wipers – Over The Edge
20. Sparklehorse – Someday I Will Treat You Good
21. Fugazi – Waiting Room
22. Saves The Day – You Vandal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s